You are here

2023 MTA Award Winners

Congrats to the 2023 Mississippi Tennis Association Award Winners! The individuals below exemplified in helping grow the game of tennis in the state of Mississippi! The Awards Luncheon will be held at the River Hills Club in Jackson on January 27th, 2024 starting at noon. To register for the Luncheon, click the link HERE and click on "MTA Awards Luncheon" on the right. The deadline to register is January 19th, 2023.

  • Adaptive & Wheelchair Award - Meridian CTA (Toni Jackson)
  • Adult LLC of the Year - Johnny Wilkinson (Gulf Coast)
  • Adult Tournament of the Year - Jingle Ball Team Event (Donny Flowers - Tunica)
  • Captain of the Year - Levi Sumrall (Pinebelt)
  • Coach of the Year - John Cox (Bayou Academy)
  • Dororthy Vest Female Player of the Year - Owen Wilkinson (Oxford)
  • Dorothy Vest Male Player of the Year - Gavin Ryan (Ridgeland)
  • Educational Merit Award - William Henson (Belden)
  • George Wilkerson Award Female - Lucy Lee (Jackson)
  • George Wilkerson Award Male - Lucas Wrigley (Ocean Springs)
  • Powers Moore Jr. Sportsmanship Award - Isabella Graeber (Ocean Springs)
  • JTT LLC of the Year - Terrie Hall (Brookhaven)
  • JTT Sportsmanship Award - Emma Shay (Jackson)
  • Jr. Tournament of the Year - Treasure Oak Jr Open (Steve Pennington - Ocean Springs)
  • Jim Warren Volunteer of the Year - Randee Jernigan (Eupora)
  • Member Organization of the Year - Snowden Grove Tennis Complex (Michael Johnson - Southaven)
  • Official of the Year - Penny Fahey (Brandon)
  • Pro of the Year - Justyn Schelver (Madison)
  • Family of the Year - Owen Family (Wiggins)
  • Special Tennis Event of the Year - Smash the Stigma (JJ Branch)
  • Team Tennis Event of the Year - MHSAA Tennis State Championships (LeAnna Dawson)
  • League Team of the Year - 18+ 5.0 Women (Emily Stewart)
  • NJTL Youth Essay Contest Winner of MS - Deneen Mosley (Madison)
  • USTA Southern Volunteer Service Award for MS - Venecca Green (Jackson)