You are here

Congrats to the 2022 Mississippi Tennis Association Award Winners!

Congrats to the 2022 Mississippi Tennis Association Award Winners! The individuals below exemplified in helping grow the game of tennis in the state of Mississippi! The Awards Luncheon will be held at the River Hills Club in Jackson on January 7th, 2023 starting at noon. To register for the Luncheon, click the link HERE and click on "MTA Awards Luncheon" on the right. Deadline to register is January 2nd, 2023.

  • Adult League Coordinator of the Year- Sara Hester (Delta LLC)
  • Adult Tournament of the Year- Crawfish Classic (Christer Olsson)
  • Arthur Ashe NJTL Essay Winner- Alexandria Magee (Columbus)
  • Captain of the Year- Aimee Worsham (North Central League Tennis)
  • Coach of the Year- Pete Mazzella (Lawrence, MS)
  • CTA of the Year- Greenville CTA/NJTL (Birlette Jelks)
  • Dorothy Vest Jr Female Player of the Year- Madalyn Smelley (Ocean Springs)
  • Dorothy Vest Jr Male Player of the Year- Charlie Ratliff (Madison)
  • Educational Merit Award- Charlie Ratliff
  • Family of the Year- Black Family (Hattiesburg)
  • George Wilkinson Memorial Award Female- Emily Buchanan (Jackson)
  • George Wilkinson Memorial Award Male- Ryland Buford (Gulfport)
  • Jim Warren Volunteer of the Year- Rob Turner (Mathison)
  • JTT Local Coordinator of the Year- Randee Jernigan (Golden Triangle)
  • JTT Sportsmanship- Micah Hill (Laurel)
  • Junior Tournament of the Year- DTM Summer Slam (Tripp Case)
  • Media Excellence Award- Andy Collier (Cleveland)
  • Member Organization of the Year- Bayou Bluff Tennis Club (Gulfport)
  • Powers Moore Jr Sportsmanship Award- Joshua Johnson (Jackson)
  • Special Tennis Event of the Year- 3rd Battle of the States (Vanita Phinisey)
  • Team Tennis Event of the Year- Junior Level 5 Team Pilot (Neil Witherow)
  • Tennis Official of the Year- Felicia Ford (Jackson)
  • Tennis Professional of the Year- Zoe Douglas (Hattiesburg)
  • USTA League Team of the Year- Warren Biddle 3.0 40 & Over (Jackson)

Register for the luncheon at the link HERE!