To Promote & Develop the Growth of Tennis

You are here

Geoff Norton named PTR Member of the Year

Geoff Norton, of Jackson, Mississippi, has been named PTR Member of the Year for the State.  This award is presented to a PTR member who has shown dedication and diligence in promoting and supporting tennis and PTR.  Norton has been a PTR Certified Professional since 1989.

Norton is the Executive Director for USTA Mississippi.  Prior to that role, he served as a TSR for the USTA Southern Section, where he helped promote and develop the growth of tennis in Mississippi working side by side with the USTA MS staff, tennis teaching professionals and facilities throughout the state.  He is the former USTA National Manager for Adult/Senior Competition & Technical Programs, as well as the former Director of Development for Professional Tennis Registry serving as a PTR Clinician from 1992-2015.

Norton was a staff member on Tyler Junior College’s Tennis Technology Program, a member of the USA Wheelchair High Performance coaching staff and World Cup coach, spending 26 years coaching players from beginner to professional.

He spent time working with USTA professional tournaments, including Davis Cup, as well as served on several USTA boards and committees.  He has written for various tennis publications such as TennisProRacquet Sports Industry, Italy’s Tennis Oggi and co-authored the Special Olympics Tennis Coaches Guide.  He received the Excellence in Education Award from the Texas Alliance of Private Schools in 2000, in 2002, he received Texas Member of the Year for the organization and in 2008, he was named PTR Wheelchair Professional of the Year. 

PTR is the largest global organization of tennis teaching professionals with more than 15,600 members in 127 countries.  It has the greatest percentage of multicultural and women members of any such organization.  PTR is dedicated to educating, certifying and servicing tennis teachers and coaches around the world in order to grow the game.


Adult Programs

Tennis Foundation

We have many deserving players, coaches and pros who are eligible for the Mississippi Tennis Hall of Fame.