To Promote & Develop the Growth of Tennis

You are here

2014 Hall of Fame Group

Hall of Fame Members


2014 Inductee, Marty Pearson

The Tennis Foundation of Mississippi is pleased to announce that Marvin (Marty) Pearson of Oxford was the 2014 inductee into the Mississippi Tennis Hall of Fame.  Marty has long been associated with tennis in the state and through his play, support, and instruction has left an unmistakable imprint on Mississippi tennis.

Marty’s tennis career began in Houston, MS, and continued at Delta State University, where he was twice recognized as MVP on the 1972 and 1973 tennis teams.   After graduation he served as coach, counselor, teacher, and administrator in Mississippi schools for thirty-six years.   For 25 of those years, he coached high school tennis, winning 8 team district titles, 9 individual state titles, and 2 team state titles, amassing a career record of 193-93-1.   He coached the 1996 High School All-Star team and was selected “Coach of the Year” in 1997 by the Mississippi Association of Coaches.

His career as a player has been equally as successful.   He was named the Mississippi Tennis Association’s Adult Player of the Year in 1996, 2007, and 2011.  In 2012 he was named the Southern Slew Hester Male Player of the Year.   Marty has earned a national ranking in doubles 15 times with 4 different partners and has been ranked in the top five in the nation six times.   He and his partner Roger Pearce were #1 in the 60’s doubles in 2012 and #2 in the nation in 2013.   Marty has won 54 Southern Age Division Doubles Championships with 13 different partners; he has played on seven USTA league teams that won Southern Sectional Championships; he has been ranked #1 in the Southern Section in doubles 18 times.  His trophy collection also consists of 2 Gold Balls, 4 Silver Balls, and 4 Bronze balls won in National Age Tournaments. In addition, he has played on the Mississippi Senior Cup Team fifteen times, serving as captain six times.  Marty, the father of one daughter, currently resides in Oxford, where he is an active member of the Oxford CTA and the North Oxford Baptist Church.   

Pearson was inducted into the Mississippi Tennis Hall of Fame at a banquet held in his honor at the Country Club of Jackson on Saturday, January 10, 2015. 


Prior Hall of Fame Inductees

1989 W.E. “Slew” Hester
1990 Dorothy “Ma” Vest
1991 Coach Tom Sawyer
1993 Carolyn Henry & Milton Cash
1994 Jeannie Peabody & Lester Sack
1995 Eleanor Shaw & Jake Propst
1996 Ken Toler & Sharon Gault
1997 Peter Koury
1998 Laney Berry & Becky Vest
1999 Bobby Jones & Yvonne Edwards
2000 John Rogers
2001 Dr. Wilfred Cole & Sandra Rogers
2002 Joan White & Cleon McKnight
2003 Carol Ann Vest & Mack Cameron
2004 Gaines Dyer & Jan Johnson
2006 Ed Edmonson & George “Juddie” Boyd
2007 Debbie Swindoll, Donnie Walker & Willie Shepard
2008 Betty Byars & Ernest Vetrano
2009 Elizabeth Lyle, Tito Echiburu & James Montgomery
2010 Billy Chadwick & Steve Pennington
2011 Jane Holland & Mark Thompson
2012 Bobby Brien & Susan Toler
2013 Dave Randall
2014 Marvin Pearson
2015 Asa Atkinson & Robert Russell 
2016 Barbara Ann Varner & Paul Johnson
2017 Wynn Alexander
2018 Henry Harris & Albert Lyle