To Promote & Develop the Growth of Tennis

You are here

Derek White to lead USTA Southern Section

Derek White Nominated to Lead USTA Southern Section
MS has 2 USTA Southern Board member nominees and 1 USTA Southern Nomination Committee member


    Derek White, of Savannah, Ga., has been nominated to serve as USTA Southern Board of Directors President & CEO for the 2017-2018 term. When elected, White would be the first African-American in the top leadership position of USTA Southern.
White has served as the USTA Southern Board of Directors Executive Vice President for the past two years. His first year on USTA Southern Board of Directors was in 2007 when he served as Secretary. In 2009, he began three two-year terms as Vice President.
Bonnie Vandegrift, of Asheville, N.C., was nominated to the post of Executive Vice President for the same term. She has served as USTA Southern Board of Directors Vice President, starting in 2015.

    Dennis Miller from Madison and John Cox from Cleveland have been nominated to continue to serve on the USTA Southern Board. Both MS men have been on the USTA Southern Board for the last two years. Jim Warren who is currently serving USTA MS as the Board President has been nominated to be a member of the USTA Southern Section Nominating Committee.

Here is the USTA Southern Board of Directors elected for the 2017-2018 term:


USTA Southern Board of Directors

Name                                       Post                                         Hometown

Derek White                              President & CEO                         Savannah, Ga.

Bonnie Vandegrift                       Executive Vice President             Asheville, N.C.

Randy Jackson                          Vice President                            Fort Smith, Ark.

Drew Meyers                             Vice President                            Lafayette, La.

Ted Reese                                 Vice President                            Holly Springs, N.C.

Brett Schwartz                           Secretary                                  Mandeville, La. 

Dennis Miller                              Treasurer                                  Madison, Miss.

John Cox                                   Director at Large                        Cleveland, Miss.

John Herring                               Director at Large                        Lexington, Ky.

Marcy Hirshberg                         Director at Large                        Johns Creek, Ga.

Paula Hale                                 USTA Delegate                          Raleigh, N.C.


USTA Southern Nominating Committee

Name                                       Post                                         Hometown

Paula Hale                                 Chairman                                  Raleigh, N.C.

Jane Gamble                              Member                                    Paducah, Ky.

Helen Martin                               Member                                    Columbus, Ga.

Paul Pittman                              Member                                    Florence, S.C.

Jim Warren                                 Member                                    Jackson, Miss.



Press Release

2016-2017 USTA Southern Board of Directors nominees


Adult Programs

Tennis Foundation

We have many deserving players, coaches and pros who are eligible for the Mississippi Tennis Hall of Fame.